top of page

Conferences season!

June was a great month! The sun decided to shine here in Exeter (although it is still a bit shy when compared to the tropics) and I also had the pleasure to be part of two scientific events: CLEScon and the 39th New Phytologist Symposium.

At CLEScon I had the chance to present a poster entitled "How trees in Central Amazonia thrive in a nutrient-poor environment: a root perspective" about the first chapter of my PhD. It was very interesting to see what's going on in our department and also show people a little bit about my research.


The 39th New Phytologist Symposium, entitled "Trait covariation: Structural and functional relationships in plant ecology" was an amazing opportunity to meet all the amazing people working with not only tropical ecology, but also plant physiology and ecosystem modelling. It was a very intense meeting when I had the chance to see some familiar faces but also meet new people and talk a lot about roots!


I hope to be soon involved in more events like these and also that fruitful collaborations can happen!


Lay



bottom of page